Home » Uncategorized » 30 Day Blog Challenge Day 13 & 100th post

30 Day Blog Challenge Day 13 & 100th post

Well according to WordPress this is my 100th post so…thank you goes out to everyone who has been along for the ride & joined it along the way.  Plus a big thank you to the first few people who followed me & have shared their story with me as well thru comments or just their own amazing blogs.  So thanks to Cinnamon (Formerly Phoenixasubbie), loneyheart, Ethan, plus my Former Master, my best friend as well as the woman I’ve been friends with for almost as long as my best friend, & my sister.  You’ve all been here almost since the beginning & I want to thank you for everything…as well as everyone else who has commented over the last year & a half.  I know I sometimes suck at responding & for that I apologize…it’s something I’m working on so don’t feel shy about leaving any & I’ll do my best to get back to them if I can!

And now to get on to today’s blog challenge which is going to be hard to write for me given the material.  And I plan on putting a picture of each, in order of how I talked about them, at the end of the post.

Day 13 – 13. Tell us about your pets.

I’m going to start off with my first pet…a cat named Little Bit.  I got her right after I turned 8 years old, & had her until Nov of 1997 when we had to put her to sleep due to kidney failure.  I had wanted a cat for years since we had dogs, & my mom finally let me take 1 from a friend of mine’s cat’s litter.  And of course me being me, I got the smallest shyest 1 because that’s what I was…still am at least when it comes to being shy. *laughs*  But that cat was my cat & mine alone because she hated everyone else…& was a true cat & treated me more like her servant than her owner.  She was my baby & I will never forget her or her brain fried self…since she electrocuted herself at 3 yrs old & was loopy the next 14 years *laughs*

Next off was Duncan…who is probably going to get the biggest part of this…is my next cat.  I got him from a boyfriend back in 1995 when we were practically living together, & he brought him to me to keep not long after we broke up because his current girlfriend was torturing the poor cat & he didn’t want anything to happen to him.  And that little bitty cat grew up to be a 12 lb monster by the time it was all said & done.  And again…he was my baby.  He would tolerate other people but he was a momma’s boy & still is till this day.  He went thru kidney failure at 8 & almost died, & was given another 3-5 years to live.  Now…11 years later (He turned 19 on St. Patrick’s Day)…he has lost most of his teeth & has gone almost completely blind…but since we’ve switched him to canned cat food he’s gained a pound & looks better than he has in almost a year.  He’s come so close to dying so many times…I’m just glad he’s made it thru each & every one of them.

Now onto Nicky.  I came out of work 1 night back in late October 1997, & found this little bitty kitten huddling on the concrete between the pharmacy I worked out & the grocery store next door.  Someone coming out of the store saw me kneeling down to pet her & said they’d been in there an hour & it didn’t look like she’d moved.  Well me being me, I wrapped her up in a towel I had in the car & snuck her home.  My mom had died just a few months before & I think that’s why my Dad let me get away with keeping her.  When I got married a few months later, she adopted my now ex-husband…until he started behaving the way that ended our marriage.  So by the time he actually left, she was ok without him.  Especially since our son had been born 10 days before he left, & she just ended up adopting him.  And to this day that is his cat…no doubts about it.  My kid may annoy the crap out of her but she sleeps with him every single night, & sits in the chair with him a good part of the day when he’s at home.  And on Thursday, she’ll turn 17 so she’s done a good job at that too.

Lastly is Sammy…just cause she’s the youngest since she won’t be 5 till August.  She was the kitten in the last litter that this stray cat that lived outside our trailer had before she mysteriously died.  We had taken care of her mother before her & then her & her brother & sister, so it was only natural I liked the batch of kittens Sammy came with.  Tho in the beginning she was Dingleberry Jr…since her dad’s name was Dingleberry cause he had long fur & occasionally made a mess of things in the potty bush. *laughs*  Anyway…my sister had come down for the weekend to see me & saw them & insisted she had to have 1.  So when they were old enough, she came down & got DJ…as she was called them.  What none of us were expecting at that time was for us to move & my sister to move down here & move in with us…bringing both of her cats with us.  She ended up staying here for close to 2 years, but then she moved with a guy she knew out of state, & left Sammy with us…claiming she liked us better than she did her.  And by then…she was Sammy…Samantha Dean…named after a couple of our favorite TV characters.  Which is how I ended up with 3 cats when I’d not planned on getting another for a few years…till both of my cats were older or died…since I know from long experience that they seem to do better in pairs.  My cats weren’t thrilled but since she’s finally mellowing out a bit, we all get along just fine.

And that…is the story of my pets.  Below is Little Bit, Duncan, Nicky, & Sammy…in that order.  They are my babies just as much as my kid is…& I’m forever grateful for having them in my life & being able to be a part of theirs & hopefully have made it better for them.  Thanks again for everything everyone & happy 100th post to me! *laughs*

LittleBit

Duncan

Nicky

Sammy

Say what's on your mind...

